2012 Warman Competition

Warman Design and Build Competition 2012 - Project 'Silver"

Sydney, Australia 29 September - 1 October 2012

2012 Competition Rules

Clarification document to be read in conjunction with the Warman Rules V1.0

The objective is to design, build and prove a prototype system in a laboratory environment that serves to deliver autonomously a supply package to a ballon based observation facility, using the balloon tether to deliver the supply package.

National Final:

The 25th Warman Design and Build Competition took place on Sunday 30 September in Sydney. With sixteen Universities from across Australia and New Zealand and even one University from Malaysia competing in the National Final that was held at the Australian Technology Park.

An initiative of the National Committee on Engineering Design, and sponsored annually by Weir Minerals, the Warman Design and Build Competition asks competing students to design, build and prove a prototype system in a laboratory environment that serves to meet specified requirements.

This year, ‘Project Silver’ required that students design the best system to move the replenishment sphere (payload) from a store to the intended height datum on the balloon tether.

Based on their design, compliance with the project brief, and the performance of the device on the day, teams were ranked, with a first, second and third prize awarded, as well as the ‘Best Design” Award, and one ‘judges choice’ Award.

This year, in a nail biting finish, it was announced that The University of New South Wales (Canberra Campus) and Flinders University came equal first with their devices named ‘Martey’ and ‘Pushtov-Skeltzer-Yodle’ respectivley. The University of Canterbury came a close third with their device ‘Project Right-angle’.

Following the competition was the National Final Awards Dinner that was held at the Mercure Hotel in the heart of Sydney. The Awards ceremony was a chance to reflect over the past 25 years of the competition and thank those involved in past competitions. The winners of the 2012 National final were announced along with The Weir Minerals Judges Award that was awarded to The University of South Australia, with Flinders University taking out the Best Design award for 2012. 

Winners 2012:







Equal 1st - The University of New South Wales (Canberra Campus) with ‘Martey’





Team members:

Roger Dudziak(c)

Simon Telleria

Nathan Gilfillan

Jacob Fisher


Equal 1st - Flinders University with 'Pushtov-Skeltzer-Yodle’





Team members:

James Albrechtsen(c)

Kieren Rupcic

Christoher McNeill

Jack Burgess


3rd - University of Canterbury with ‘Project Right-angle’





Team members:

Dino Kudrass(c)

Douglas Hilson

Jeremy Nicholls

Theo Wordsworth


A number of You tube videos have been uploaded by students which can be found on our news page.

  • Find us elsewhere
  • You Tube
  • Flickr
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook
  • twitter logo
  • blog logo